

THE COUNTY OF CHAMBERS

ANAHUAC, TEXAS 77514

THE COUNTY JUDGE
JIMMY SYLVIA

POST OFFICE BOX 936 TELEPHONE: 409/267-2440 FAX: 409/267-4453

August 16, 2019

Joel Lieurance Texas Indigent Defense Commission 209 West 14th Street, Room 202 Austin, Texas 78701 (fax) (512) 463-5724

Re: Chambers County Action Plan (response to TIDC recommendations)

Mr. Lieurance:

The Chambers County officials responsible for and affected by the April 19th review have agreed to implement the following action plan, as pertains to each Finding contained in your report:

<u>Finding 1 and Recommendation</u>: per Article 15.17(e)(3) magistrates must record whether an arrestee requested counsel. Justices of the peace must mark whether each arrestee made a request or not.

Response: The Chambers County "Magistrate's Warning" has been amended to include a third option for the magistrate to mark when a defendant is "undecided" on the issue of whether to request court-appointed counsel, as well as a section for "notes" regarding the encounter (see attached "Magistrate's Warning"). Every magistrate will mark one of the three options, and fill in additional notes as warranted.

<u>Finding 2 and Recommendation:</u> per 1 Tex. Admin. Code 171.7, JP's are required to report requests for counsel as part of their Judicial Council Monthly Court Activity Reports. All JP's must create procedures to report this data.

Response: The Chambers County Justices of the Peace are committed to reporting as required. Internal, intra-magistrate issues may have led to the lack of data for the two courts that appear without any data. It is expected each Justice of the Peace will have the correlating data specific to their Court accurately reported in the future.

<u>Finding 3 and Recommendation:</u> Article 15.17(a) requires requests for counsel to be transmitted to the courts within 24 hours of the requests being made. Chambers County must ensure that whenever a request for counsel is made at the 15.17 hearing, the associated paperwork is sent to the courts within 24 hours of the request being made.

Response: Chambers County has implemented a secondary, duplicative transmission for the Court Appointed Attorney Request to the County Court within 24 hours. County employees will gather physical copies of the documents from the jail and deliver to the County Court during regular business days, in addition to an email or facsimile transmission from the office of the magistrates.

<u>Finding 4 and Recommendation:</u> Article 1.051©(1) requires the court (or its designee) to rule on all requests for counsel within 3 working days (plus 24 hours for transferring requests to the courts) of the request being made. The monitor's sample of misdemeanor cases fell below the Commission's 90% timely threshold for presuming a jurisdiction's appointment system ensures timely appointment of counsel. The County must implement practices that satisfy the appointment timeline in Article 1.051©(1)

Response: The County Court has implemented a daily review of pending Court-appointed attorney requests, in conjunction with the duplicative transmission (physical and electronic) of those requests. It is expected that, with the increased transmissions, a decrease in the number of overlooked or unseen requests will follow.

<u>Finding 5 and Recommendation:</u> TIDC interviews, case file reviews, and court observation indicate that the attorney representing the state may be communicating with defendants who have requested the appointment of counsel when the court or its designee has not acted on the request. Chambers County should clarify whether it has processes in place to ensure compliance with Article 1.051(f-1).

Response: The County Attorney's Office has implemented additional safeguards to verify that individuals speaking with the prosecutors do not have pending or "open" requests for Court-appointed counsel which have not been ruled upon by the County Judge. Defendants will be asked prior to any conversation on their case, in addition to the current "do you have an attorney?", whether they have previously requested an attorney, and what the result of that request was. Individuals with open requests, or who indicate uncertainty, will be brought before the Court for clarification of their status and desire on how to proceed.

As always, if there are additional matters which Chambers County should address on this issue, or any other, please contact me.

Sincerely.

Jimmy Sylvia Chambers County Court Judge

Magistrate's Warning

Before me the undersigned magistrate of the State of Texas on this day personally appeared in the custody of	, a peace officer, ate Jail Felony
in the custody of	
	ate Jan Felony
1. You are charged with the offense of An affidavit charging you with the offense: (HAS) (HAS NOT) been filed in	this court
2. You have a right to hire an attorney to represent you.	in the court.
3. You have the right to have your attorney present prior to and during any interview and que officers or attorneys representing the state.	estioning by peace
4. If you are indigent and cannot afford an attorney, you have the right to request appointment However, an attorney will not be appointed to you unless you are charged with a crime pure of incarceration. An attorney will not be provided for class C misdemeanors.	The state of the s
5. You have the right to remain silent.	
6. You are not required to make a statement, and any statement you make can be used against	st you in court.
7. You have the right to stop any interview or questioning at any time.	
8. You have the right to an examining trial.	
"If you are convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving violence where you are a spouse, for intimate partner, parent or guardian of the victim or were involved in another, similar relations victim, it may be unlawful for you to possess or purchase a firearm, including a handgun or lo ammunition, pursuant to federal law under 18. U.S.C. Sec. 922(g)(9) or Sec. 46.04(b), Texas I have any questions whether these laws make it illegal for you to possess or purchase a firearm consult an attorney."	ship with the ng gun, or Penal Code. If you
☐ YOUR BAIL IS SET AT \$X	
☐ Bail Not Determined ☐ Bail is denied Signature of Person Warned	
Date:, 20	
Fime: A.M / P.M. Place of warning: CHAMBERS COUNTY JAIL Title: Title:	
REQUEST FOR COUNSEL For Class C Misdemeanor	Only
DID request a court-appointed attorney I want to plead: Guilty Not Guilty	y No Contest
DID NOT request a court-appointed attorney Fine Amount \$(Total UNDECIDED	Fine and Costs)
Signature of Person Entering	Plea
otes: Witness:	
Printed Name:	
Address:	